Top Ten Books On My Winter TBR

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted over at The Broke and Bookish and this week it’s our favourites from our winter TBR. I haven’t got an official TBR composed yet but I have some ideas of what I’ll be reading this festive holiday.

    

  1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling – I’m going to be participating in the #HarryXmasToYou which is a Harry Potter readawatchalongathon I’m really excited about!  7 books + 8 films in the month of December. There’s so many exciting things going on with this event so click HERE to find out the full details. In this moment, I’m only thinking of reading the Philosopher’s Stone and Chamber of Secrets. I’ve picked those two because they’re short and the most christmas-y in my opinion. I’m not going to be attempting to read the whole series but I guess that could change.
  2. Wonder by R.J. Palacio – I’ve been hearing nothing but really positive things about this book so I’m really excited to finally get to it. The only thing that I really know about this book is that it’s about a boy with an face abnormality and it’s about him trying to find acceptance… I think? It sounds like one of those stories I’m going to be remember for a really long time so I can’t wait to get started on this on.
  3. Crown of Midnight & Heir of Fire & Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Mass – Shhh, they’re all one book really. I’ve read Throne of Glass a month or so ago and absolutely fell in love with the Game of Thrones meets Reign meets The Hunger Games vibe. Don’t even get me started on the beautiful writing style!
  4. Ed Sheeran: a visual journey by Ed Sheeran x Phillip Butah – I don’t usually read autobiographies. Non-fiction is not something I dive into often but I really couldn’t resist Ed Sheeran.
  5. Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh – This is another non-fiction pick but this is more on the humor side so when I heard some good things about it, I made a request in my local library. It’s been sitting on my shelf for a while now and I can definitely say it’s the most colourful book I’ve seen all year!
  6. Blue at Midnight by S.D. Wile –  I actually got this book free from Goodreads and it’s a short fantasy novel. I don’t know too much about it but I’ve never read such a short fantasy read so I’m really interested to know if this is something that works.
  7. Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick – I got a signed copy of Black Ice just over a week ago and I even got to talk to her a little bit so I’m really pumped for this book. I’ve been hearing really mixed reviews but I’ve really enjoyed the Hush, Hush series and so I’m really looking forward to starting this.
  8. Casual Vacancy by J.K Rowling – It’s been sitting on my shelf and it’s been staring at me for a good couple of months now so I have to give it a go. I’ve actually read the first chapter back when I first go it and it looked interesting so I guess I’ll try it over Christmas.
  9. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – Finally I own a Rainbow Rowell book! It was tough choice between that or Fangirl but I’ve highlighter Fangirl on my Christmas list so I wouldn’t want to accidentally get it twice. I’ve heard so many amazing things about this book and about Rainbow Rowell so to think I’ve actually got a book by her in my possession is really exciting.
  10. Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkein – I’m going to include The Hobbit in there too. I have all of these books by J.R.R. Tolkein and with The Hobbit movie coming out soon, I’m really looking forward to finally starting these since I feel a little bit late to the party.

     

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On My Winter TBR

    • The fact that there is absolutely no chance of me starting and finishing The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit before The Hobbit film comes out makes me want to punch things. I’m always so amazed at how beautiful the trailers for those movies are!

      Like

  1. Harry Potter! ❤ I've never heard of this challenge, but now I want to add it to my winter madness. I hope you like Eleanor & Park, but Fangirl would have also been an amazing choice. It's seriously one of the best YA contemporaries I've read.

    Nice list!

    Like

    • It’s a new challenge hosted by one of my favourite booktubers just starting this year. I really wish I had more time to prepare and get rid of my TBR so I can read all 7 but that’s not really possible now :C I’m really hoping I get the collector’s edition for Christmas because it’s one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever seen. *o*
      Thanks for stopping by! ❤

      Like

  2. Oooh! I’ve been wanting to do a Harry Potter reread for a while now! What’s the link to the event? Your ‘HERE’ link isn’t there ): Ah I just finished a Throne of Glass series reread. You will love Crown of Midnight & The Assassin’s Blade! Black Ice is really good! Just finished it a couple weeks ago. It’s got a great twist in it. And oooh! I need to do an Eleanor & Park reread. Great list!:D

    Alexandra @ SleepsOnTables

    Like

    • It must be a sign! Ahh I must have rushed it and didn’t put it in later. It’s there now darling. I hope you join in!

      I love marathoning fantasy series because you don’t lose the detail so I’m sure I’ll love those Throne of Glass books C: I’m probably the last person on the planet that hasn’t read a Rainbow Rowell book so I’m so excited to finally get to her books :3

      Like

  3. Great list! So many great choices here. I highly recommend Hyperbole and a Half, Harry Potter (but you already know how awesome that series is), and the Lord of the Rings. I’m sure Eleanor & Park is also excellent (I haven’t read it yet, but I really enjoyed Rainbow Rowell’s other books).

    Like

    • Thank you! I’ve read a little of Hyperbole and a Half already and the illustrations are hilarious so I really want to get to that one soon :3
      Thanks for stopping by darling C:

      Like

Leave a Reply

