The Funny Adventures of Little Nani by Cinta García de la Rosa – book review

The Funny Adventures of Little Nani || Cinta García de la Rosa || Children’s || 100 pages || Createspace || 4.62 on Goodreads

Little Nani is a little girl who likes helping people. However, when she helps people the results can be a bit unexpected. Why is that? Little Nani is a witch! Or at least she wants to be a witch. With her magic wand, she will try to cast different spells to help her friends, but she won’t be successful all the time.
Follow Little Nani in her funny adventures and meet her extraordinary friends. Funny ostriches, horses that love reading, super-fast turtles, grumpy zombies… Little Nani has lots of friends! You can also draw your own characters!
Little Nani is willing to become a good witch. Will she manage to do it? Who knows?

I’ve received a free review copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. Thank you very much Cinta!

This book was hard to judge at first. There were some parts that I adored and thought to be very original. On the other hand, there were some parts that I certainly didn’t like. As a whole, it was very mediocre for me.

THE HIGHS

The structure of this book is definitely something that I don’t see often among children’s books.  The book is a collection of short stories featuring Little Nani as the main character and because of this I found it really easy to read. The stories are a perfect length for a bedtime read. I always find it’s important to make sure a children’s book makes the reader feel like they’re constantly moving though the story, They want to feel like there is something constantly happening and I think that’s what the structure of the book does.

The writing style was both enjoyable and charming. With a mix of both complex and simplified words, I believe an audience with a wide range of reading abilities can read and enjoy this book.

However, what I liked most about the book is how interactive it was. Scattered throughout the book are little prompts for the children to get involved in the story and draw a pictures of the events. Myself and my little sister loved this element as it made the whole book more exciting. Because of this, I noticed my sister was actually paying more attention to the story compared to a book with similar amounts of text without this element.

AND THE LOWS

I thought that the book could do with a little more editing and proof reading. There’s two sides to this. There’s the, “It’s only a minor problem. One or two read-throughs should do it,” and the,”Surely it’s essential for a children’s book to have faultless grammar.” I don’t think it’s a major issue but at the same time, children learn from books and that’s why it’s even more important to not have any grammar mistakes.

I wasn’t a fan of act that this little eight-year-old girl lived alone and didn’t have a parental figure. Because of this, her actions always came across to me as wilder and more untamed and compared to if I read about a girl with parents or any other authority figure. For example, I didn’t agree with some of her responses to certain situations but I can’t say too much without ruining the book.

Finally, something that I think  was bad but perhaps could have been executed differently was the interactive aspect of the book. As I’ve already said above, I really enjoyed the drawing element of the book as it was both original and fun. However, I think it could have been more entertaining for the children if they had to look for clues in the story to help them draw their pictures as opposed to being given most of the prompts in the ‘DRAWING TIME’ paragraph.

Overall, it a really enjoyable read but the problems I’ve talked about brought the rating down to about 3.5.

RATING: [3/5]

RECOMMEND TO:  Anyone with children like drawing and interacting with the story as opposed to picking up a book, reading, and then putting it back again.

One thought on “The Funny Adventures of Little Nani by Cinta García de la Rosa – book review

Leave a Reply

