Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – book review

Mockingjay || Suzanne Collins || 390 pages || Scholastic Press || 4.03 on Goodreads

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay–no matter what the personal cost.

I would just like to say that I was re-reading this book for the film that is already out so as a whole, my experience with Mockingjay was different than to when I first read it a couple of years ago. I wanted to put this book down so many times but the only thing that really kept me going was the determination to finish it before the film. If Mockingjay Part 1 wasn’t already in cinemas, I wouldn’t have bothered.

THE HIGHS

I really struggled to find some positives for this book but I did manage to find this: the characters. They were great motivators for me to finish the story. I’m not saying Katniss didn’t annoy me (she did) and Gale didn’t make me want to slap him (he did – multiple times), but seeing characters like Prim and Finnick really made me want to push forward with the story. The comic relief in this book very limited and so having these side characters really helped in that aspect as well. More on those characters down below.

THE LOWS

Let’s start off by saying that it didn’t feel like I was reading a story. It felt like I’m reading a summary. The first half of the book more than the rest but still I found that the majority of the scenes were just cut off and not given enough attention. This book could have been fleshed out so much more than what we got and that’s really disappointing as this is the biggest book out of the trilogy. Which then makes me think: were all the scenes necessary? Was this book trying to achieve too many things? I definitely think so as the only thing Suzanne Collins should have been doing is creating a good ending for this amazing trilogy. That didn’t happen.

I also didn’t like how limited the book was because it was told from first person POV of Katniss. I can’t guarantee that it would have been better if it switched POVs or if it was in third person and we got some chapters in different locations. But, I do know that it would have given, us as readers, more of an idea of what this particular war was like. We could have explored the life in the districts. We could have dived into District 2, who didn’t want to be part of the revolution. We could have had chapters with Snow. We could have had a wonderful, rounded idea of this war but all we really received was District 13 for the majority of the story.

STANDOUT CHARACTERS

  • Prim – I think this book really shows how much she’s changed from the first novel and I really love that. I can definitely see the Katniss in her during this book. We got glimpses of her fight and I was really taken aback by them because I’ve only ever really seen Prim as a really, really minor character because of how little we see her in the previous books. She really grew on me during this book, I have to say.
  • Finnick – I forget how much I adore Finnick. Especially at the beginning, I was annoyed at the way the author handled his instability because it felt like one scene he was fine and the next you couldn’t even talk to him. But overall his presence made every scene so much better and I adored his character.
  • Johanna – I love characters like Johanna because they just bring so many lighter scenes into the mix and I think she really did that. The banter between her and Katniss made me grin but I was also glad to see she had some sub-plot of her own, even if it was small.

RATING: [2/5] – The only thing that kept me from putting this book down was my friend who kept motivating me.

RECOMMEND TO: Well, I wouldn’t really recommend it. It’s worth it for the sake of finishing off the series but other then that…

Leave a Reply

