A Christmas Carol – book review

A Christmas Carol || Charles Dickens || Classic || 104 pages || Bethany House Publishers || 3.98 on Goodreads

I think this title hardly needs an introduction but just for the sake of it:

Cruel miser Ebeneezer Scrooge has never met a shilling he doesn’t like…and hardly a man he does. And he hates Christmas most of all. When Scrooge is visited by his old partner, Jacob Marley, and the ghosts of Christmas Past, Christmas Present, and Christmas Yet to Come, he learns eternal lessons of charity, kindness, and goodwill. Experience a true Victorian Christmas!

A Christmas Carol is my first Charles Dickens novel (which I’m kind of embarrassed about) and my second ever classic (which I’m even more embarrassed about). Yet I fell in love with it straight away. Obviously, I knew what the story was about as I don’t think a year goes past without some sort of adaptation being shown on TV. I’m going to have to say that this is going to be less of a book review and more of a mini rave, so let’s get right into it.

THE HIGHS

Of course I have read some Charles Dickens before this book. Extracts of his works featured in many of my English lessons throughout my secondary school life and I even remember practicing my analysis technique on an section from this exact novel last year. I knew he was a good writer but I haven’t actually appreciated how stunning his writing style is until I’ve read this. The descriptions are so so rich which is great for any book, but for a book set around the Christmas time it’s absolutely wonderful.

Something that I wasn’t expecting was a how interesting the characters of the spirits are. So many underlying themes are hidden in between the lines just in their behaviours and how they are presented, let alone their appearances. The author places a many messages and ideas into the story through the spirits so everybody’s interpretation and experience with the novel is different. I feel like sayings such as ‘You know you’re on the right track when you’re uninterested in looking back’ and ‘ I don’t think of the past; the only thing that matters is the everlasting present’ are definitely challenged. Like I said, everyone interprets stories like these slightly differently, but I personally believe that this book is putting across the message that you need all three in mind for change to happen and to move forward. It’s so wonderful I could analyse it all day.

It’s going to sound really obvious, but I’m glad I read this book in the month of December as opposed to any other month. I think some people may find it sad at times but the whole book revolves around the Christmas Day and it’s a brilliant story to build up the Christmas excitement and get into that mood of gratitude.

This book is a faboulous read any time of the year, but this part specifically but most importantly for me, the book definitely made me want to dive more into the classics genre. So if you feel like you want to branch out more in terms of your reading but this section of literature looks kind of scary, A Christmas Carol is what you want to read.

RATING: [5/5] – I have a strong feeling I will be re-reading this book every December for many years to come.

RECOMMEND TO: Anyone looking for a short read to get into that Christmas spirit (see what I did there?).

2 thoughts on “A Christmas Carol – book review

Leave a Reply

