Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh – book review

acdad-bookcoverfinalthree

Hyperbole and a Half || Allie Brosh || Humor || 369 pages || Touchstone || 4.11 on Goodreads

This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative–like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it–but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. So I decided to just make a list of things that are in the book:

Pictures
Words
Stories about things that happened to me
Stories about things that happened to other people because of me
Eight billion dollars*
Stories about dogs
The secret to eternal happiness*

*These are lies. Perhaps I have underestimated my sneakiness!

I didn’t know much going into this book at all. They didn’t even have it on the library system. I picked it up purely because the Jessethereader praised it a couple of times in his videos as something funny so I decided to check it out. I didn’t even know Allie Brosh was a blogger until half way through the book. I guess it was a risk because I don’t read a lot of non-fiction but it definitely paid off.

THE HIGHS

The pictures in this book are a key element in making each story so funny. Considering that they’re a recurring feature on her blog, I was so glad to see that they’ve transferred that into the book. When you think comedian, you don’t necessarily think of an author of a funny book. And I don’t mean funny as in having-a-character-in-a-story-that-every-now-and-again-cracks-a-joke funny but funny as in telling you a story that is both filled with witty comments and has a great punch line. So when illustrations like these are presented, every single one of the stories is enhanced and twice as funny.

Another thing: the author is speaking directly to you and telling you a story and I think that’s brilliant. The writing is not formal as you would find in a fiction novel story and so the author treats us like a friend. It makes the book so much more enjoyable. That’s also the reason I flew through this book.

However, the most wonderful section of this book is probably the two or three chapters where she talks about her depression because I feel that topic can be very misunderstood sometimes. Allie Brosh used this book as an opportunity to describe what depression is really like for the person. Not only did this make me really respect her but it made the book a whole lot better in my eyes. I’ve seen some people describing it before but the author here does really well with relating it to the real life while also mixing in a little dry humor.

THE LOWS

I can’t really find any lows for this read. In my mind, I picked this book up hoping it would be different and it would make me laugh. It was different and it definitely made me laugh.

RATING: [5/5] – I loved it!

RECOMMEND TO: If you’re looking for an entertaining and funny read. I can also suggest it if you like the youtuber danisnotonfire as I associate this kind of humor with him. Dog lovers too!

Leave a Reply

