Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

e5163-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely people over at The Broke and Bookish. This week it’s Top Ten books we’ve read in 2014. Some people may chose to do it by genre or some may prefer to pick out of the 2014 Releases only but I decided to go with the standard overall list as this week I want to share ALL the great books that I’ve been reading over the year of 2014. So let’s jump straight in.

1. The Weight of Water by Sarah Crossan

I feel like I go on about this book all the time but it is literally up there with The Book Thief and Wonder for the most hear-warming book in the world. It is a beautiful story about a girl moving from Poland to the UK with her mum in search of her father. I recommend it to everyone!

2. Wonder by R.J. Palacio

I have just finished this book a few days ago actually and oh boy, I have a new favourite! I can totally see why it’s praised so much and it’s one of those books you want to re-read again and again. It was absolutely stunning! Review coming Friday!

3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This was the first ever book I reviewed on this blog and, if I’m honest, I had nothing negative to say whatsoever. My opinion on the film was completely different but the book was so perfectly balanced with it’s themes as well as involving a lot of clever twists and quirks which made me love this book so much.

4. The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Gasp. Shock. Horror. Stephanie Meyer is on the list! Shhh, calm. It’s not how it looks. I understand that her writing and books in general are sometimes a hot topic for discussion (now less than it used to be) but I actually really enjoyed her books. I wouldn’t say Stephanie Meyer is the best writer in the world but The Host was such a wonderful and developed in my eyes that it had to be on my list. I’ve been thinking about re-reading it for months now.

5. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

I think Cassie has been on ever single list of mine so far and I regret nothing. I had to limit myself, though, because I knew that if I wasn’t careful, City of Glass, City of Lost Souls, City of Heavenly Fire and Clockwork Prince would have also been on this list and there would have been hardly any room left for anyone else. Although, to me, Clockwork Princess is still the best thing Cassandra Clare has ever written.

6. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

I was really late to the Harry Potter fandom because, as much as I would like to say I grew up with J.K. Rowling’s stories, I didn’t. I marathoed this series throughout the year, taking my time, and I feel like if I had to choose a favourite, Deathly Hallows would be very near the top. I could never pick a favourite though!

7. Divergent by Veronica Roth

This is the book that got me into actively reading and so how could I not find a space for it on my Top Ten this week? It was fun. It was action packed. It had a kick-ass heroine that I still consider a role model. That’s all a good book needs for me.

8. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I really can’t  believe I left it to so late in the year to start this when so many people were raving about this series. It was also because I left it too late I missed Sarah J. Maas when she was doing her UK tour for Heir of Fire *sobs forever* I am in the middle of Crown of Midnight currently and this is definitely becoming one of my favourite series.

9. Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead

This one came into my life during the summer when I basically marathoned the whole series in the space of two weeks with days to spare (which then I spent in the state of booklessness). The writing in the first two books made me want to poke my eyes out but it does get so so so much better. I absolutely adored the politics element in the series and, of course, my darling Adrian.

10. If I Stay by Gayle Forman

This book gets a real mixed bag when it comes to reviews but I’m one of those people that absolutely loved this story. I cried buckets and loved how quotable this whole novel is. The film also was fabulous!

Honorable mentions: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, Looking for Alaska by John Green and Pieces of Us by Margie Gelbwasser

Who made it on your list this year? Leave a link and I’ll be sure to check them out! :3

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

  1. Of these, I’m ashamed to say I haven’t read Wonder yet … I’ll need to get to it right away. Otherwise, I’ve read these (aside from the first book on your list and The Host) – not each in the Vampire Academy series, but I’ve started it!

    Like

  2. I’m glad you read and enjoyed Harry Potter this year even though you didn’t get to grow up with it. I loved that series. I also loved Divergent. I really need to get to The Book Thief, Wonder, and Throne of Glass. I keep hearing people rave about them, but I haven’t read them yet.

    Like

  3. I actually started Wonder, but didn’t get to finishing it, I really enjoyed the voice in the narration though. The Book Thief and The Host were other books I started, but did not finish, they didn’t grab my attention as much as I had hoped. That’s not to say that I do not want to read them though, because I totally do 🙂

    ​​​Sparrow’s Best of 2014

    Like

Leave a Reply

