Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas – book review

Heir of Fire || Sarah J. Maas || Fantasy || 562 pages || Bloomsbury USA Children’s || 4.61 on Goodreads 

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?

RATING: [5/5] – I know, I know. I’ve given all of Sarah J. Maas’ books five stars but compared the other books in the series, this is definitely the best one.

RECOMMEND TO: People that enjoy high fantasy with a historical kind of vibe so definitely fans of Game of Thrones. And if for some reason you didn’t like the first two and wanted to give up on the series: READ THIS ONE and then decide if you want to drop it.

DISCLAIMER: THIS REVIEW IS GOING TO BE FULL OF SPOILERS SO IF YOU HAVE NOT READ HEIR OF FIRE YET, YOU SHOULD GET ON THAT AND COME BACK WHEN YOU’RE DONE. IT’S FANTASTIC. IT’S THE BEST BOOK OF THE SERIES SO FAR. I ABSOLUTELY AND UTTERLY LOVED IT. THAT’S ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW. :3

The beginning was a little harder to get into than the other books for me. I mean, Crown of Midnight was slow at the start but I still found it easy to read 100 pages in one sitting. Heir of Fire not so much. I believe it’s because we have our favourite characters on different continents and there are brand new characters introduced both sides of the sea so I needed those extra chapters to get used to them and their point of view.

I don’t think this is a bad thing or a good thing but it is a fact: this book takes fantasy to the next level. There is so much more history and names and clans and bloodlines and mythology; it is definitely a step up in the richness of the fantasy elements. Which is not to say that the other books were not good but I can definitely tell Sarah J. Maas has added those extra layers of complexity. For me, it was fantastic because I love it when a series grows like that and I’m totally at home with high fantasy. Some people may find it confusing and a bit too much, however, I absolutely loved it!

I really enjoyed Manon’s storyline in the book even it didn’t have too much relevance to what was going on with Celeana and Dorian and Chaol. It’s all good to tell the reader, ‘The King is building up Ironteeth forces near the Fang Mountains,’ but for the author to show us like that is really something. It is really interesting because it’s not something I even considered to be featured, let alone being dedicated so much of the book to. Although it was strange at first I found myself really enjoying the story that followed her and how it related the wars and the politics to do with the king and continent. And of course with that we got another powerful female heroine which you can never have enough of.

The highlight of the book for me has to be Rowan and Celeana’s friendship. Or whatever you’d like to call it. It’s interesting for me because I’ve never really rooted so much for two people to be together as friends before. I tend to stick with rooting for couples. It was the way they interacted with each other and the things they shared that made my heart melt. The scooped her up and carried her too his room because he had a more comfortable bed! I made so many fangirling sounds at that moment you have no idea.

I really liked how, when I finished the book, I took a look at how each character ended up, and could think of at least one thing that foreshadowed where they end up at the end of the novel. Wherever it is Aedion and his conversation with Ren about how, right then, he’s fighting to see Celeana just once to it being said throughout the book that it won’t end well for Sorscha. Everything was so perfectly foreshadowed, even from Crown of Midnight when the slave girl swung her ax into the overseer’s gut. Maas’ attention to detail is absolutely stunning and for me, the little things are what make a five star book.

FAVOURITE CHARACTERS:

  • Aedion – I just want to give him a big hug. What really made me love him was his loyalty how strong it was for his Aelin. It reminded me Rose from Vampire Academy and her loyalty to Lissa and how she’d protect her with her life (even if it wasn’t her job).
  • Rowan – Oh man, I knew I was going to love him from the beginning. At first I loved him because of how strict he was on Celeana and how he showed her that she’s not invincible. Then I loved him because of the story of his Mate and his oath to his aunt. He was probably my favourite in this book.
  • Dorian – He really stands up Chaol in this book more and I really respect him for it. He sticks up for Celeana too and I was so glad that someone said it because his attitude really bothered me and most of the time his character just irritates me to no end.

FAVOURITE QUOTE (There were too many good quotes so I picked a couple. Sue me.):

“She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.”

“You cannot pick and choose what parts of her to love.”

“I claim you, Rowan Whitethorn. I don’t care what you say and how much you protest. I claim you as my friend.”

“And then I am going to rattle the stars.”

“She was Aelin Ashryver Galathynius—­and she would not be afraid.”

“You didn’t need a weapon at all when you were born one.”

Leave a Reply

