Sleepless by Lou Morgan

Sleepless || Lou Morgan || Horror || 352 pages || Stripes Publishing || 3.58 on Goodreads

Young, rich and good-looking, Izzy and her friends lead seemingly perfect lives. But exams are looming – and at a school like Clerkenwell, failure is not an option. Luckily, Tigs has a solution. A small pill that will make revision a breeze and help them get the results they need. Desperate to succeed, the group begin taking the study drug.

It doesn’t take long before they realize there are far worse things than failing a few exams.

*I received a free review copy from the publishers in exchange for my honest review.*

THE HIGHS

The idea was good and that’s what really interested me in this story in the first place. I personally could relate to the pressure that is thrust upon students during exam periods. The drug was an intriguing idea and I could definitely see the appeal of it to these characters who have exams looming over them. In that aspect, I found the book to be quite believable which was important for me. If I don’t believe in the fact that someone would actually take that drug, I’d spend the entire book scoffing at the characters’ stupidity.

This book is filled with dark scenes and some of those were definitely my favourite parts of the book. While I wasn’t a fan of the writing style, I felt like the author really stepped into her element when I was reading those scenes. Her writing style is quite economic and that’s not something that I usually enjoy but it worked with the scarier scenes.If it works and actually makes me anxious and nervous, then I can’t fault that.

THE LOWS

While I did like the way the author wrote in those darker scenes, as a whole, the writing style didn’t do much for me. Unnecessary things were focused on and described, especially the layout of the Barbican estate which I thought was unnecessarily emphasized. For me, it made the story drag. The book could have been half as long and with that it would have been a faster read, more action packed and, in general, more entertaining.

My biggest issue was probably the fact that I didn’t connect to the characters in any way. Yes, I could relate to the pressure but it felt like the characters surrounding the main female protagonist, Izzy, had no real purpose except to be there and to push the story forwards without much that could be said about their own characters and back story.

Overall, I thought that the story’s concept was interesting and had potential however, for me, it wasn’t executed well enough.

RATING: [2.5/5]

Leave a Reply

