We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – book review

We Were Liars || E. Lockhart || Contemporary || 227 pages || Delacorte Press || 3.89 on Goodreads

Summary from Goodreads:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

RATING: [5/5] – I’ve read nothing like it before and, if I’m being totally honest, it deserves it’s own scale.

RECOMMEND TO: Anyone who wants a different kind of contemporary with a bit of mystery and unforgettable storyline altogether.

This book is a really quick read with only 225 pages so most can easily read it in a few hours. I think it’s definitely a unique read and I really recommend it. That’s all I want to say because it is so much better to go into this book without knowing anything. All you need to know is that is was quite fabulous and I hope everybody gets the chance to read it.

THE REST OF THIS REVIEW IS GOING TO BE SPOILER FULL

Let me first comment on the writing style. I think most people would agree that E. Lockhart’s writing style is absolutely captivating. It’s so smooth and the way she personifies emotions is absolutely stunning. She is definitely very bold and very vivid with her writing which was really wonderful and it worked really with the beautiful summery setting.

The whole novel held this sense of mystery which kept me asking questions all the way through. The story in itself had so many gaps the reader could fill in for themselves. Where they ghosts of hallucinations? Did the mother know about Candace seeing the others or did she just let her daughter roam free on the island by herself? That is no longer something that the author can decide and is totally up to the reader to choose how they want to interpret the story. It’s rare for me to like a book that doesn’t give me a definite ending and a conclusion but because of the theorizing that I can still do with this novel with other people, I’m very satisfied with how things played out.

Something that I don’t stumble upon very often are the theme of power in a contemporary novel. It’s more of a fantasy and dystopain topic, especially in YA, so to see it done in such a beautiful way was really refreshing. And the best thing was that it felt so real. Because we know that the power hungry aren’t only in alternate universes and real life villains aren’t as obvious to spot. I thought that what E. Lockhart did with that theme was brilliant and I hope I get to see more of this in the future books I read.

Overall, I have to say this story is one of my 2014 favourites and I am so glad I picked it up. It’s a definite re-read for me sometime, perhaps before the movie or maybe even before that, because I really want to go back and really appreciate all the little parts and elements that make this story so unbelievably good. After all, it’s all in the details for me.

One thought on “We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – book review

  1. Pingback: Ten Books I’d Love to Read With My Book Club | Book Rambles

Leave a Reply

