Ten Books I’d Love to Read With My Book Club

0e118-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely The Broke and Bookish. I am loving this week’s Top Ten Tuesdays topic because it’s right up my alley. I go to a book club! It’s organised by one of the English teachers at my school and, although it’s a small gathering every other week, I’ve enjoyed all our reads so far. You can imagine I’m really excited about sharing my list this week!

First up I have books that I’ve already read and so those books would really be a pleasure to re-read (and would give me an excuse to not feel guilt for it.)

The Weight of Water by Sarah Crossan1. The Weight of Water by Sarah Crossan

This is no surprise to some that have been following my blog for a while as it’s been on a few of my lists already. This book looks at bullying, love and just about a girl trying to survive. I would absolutely love to gush over it to my real life bookish friends.

2. The Book Thief by Markus ZusakThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This book is just wonderful. I really can’t explain it. Set in Narzi Germany and filled with absolutely gorgeous metaphors that I could spend days and weeks analyzing. If you’re still not convinced you can see my review here and my film review here.

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath3. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

This is where I cheat a little because I am currently reading this book for my book club this Wednesday. I’ve got so many books waiting to be read that need to be given back that I wasn’t sure I wanted to pick it up and I’m so glad I have! I’m flying through it and it really helped me get out of my reading slump. This book tackles depression and we get to see a lot of how women were seen in 1950 New York which is also really interesting. Review to come!

4. Wonder by R.J. PalacioWonder by R.J Palacio

Much like The Book Thief, this book warmed my heart on so many occasions. This a beautiful story about a boy with a severe face deformity and his experience as he goes to a normal school for the first time. Yet it’s so much more because it’s also about his sister, and about his best friend and his other best friend and his bully and so many more. It’s a middle grade book that made a huge impact on me and I loved every second of it. You can find my review here.

I Was Here by Gayle Forman5. I Was Here by Gayle Forman

This book comes out TODAY! I was lucky enough to receive an ARC from the publishers (review here) and I thought it would be an amazing read for my book club. It’s about suicide and loss and grief and blame and it much more mature than Forman’s If I Stay so it’s perfect for book clubs.

6. Pieces of Us by Margie GelbwasserPieces of Us by Margie Gelbwasser

This book was brutally honest and raw and I loved it. I’d summarise it but it just has so many things going on I would make it sound awful. You can find out more in my review here.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart7. We Were Lairs by E. Lockhart

Oh. My. Goodness. This book. I’ve recently reviewed it here and oh man it has to be one of my favourites. I know, I know, not giving much away here but if you want to read it (because yes you should!) then it’s so much better not knowing anything about this book apart from the fact that you won’t regret it.

And now for the three reads that I haven’t read yet but would be ecstatic if they were picked to read for my book club.

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine WangaI'll Give You the Sun by Jandy NelsonLove Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

8. My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

9. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

10. Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

What’s on your list this week? Leave a comment or a link and I’ll make sure to check them out :3

4 thoughts on “Ten Books I’d Love to Read With My Book Club

  1. Yours are all new to me too 🙂 I’ve been debating about reading The Book Thief — I went so far as buying it around when previews for the movie started coming out, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet :/

    Liza @ Classy Cat Books

    Like

Leave a Reply

