January Wrap-Up

January was such a lazy month for me! I cannot believe the badly my reading year has started. I’m still in a reading slump. At the start of the month I’ve picked up about three books and just didn’t make it past the 50th page on any of them because I just can’t seem to find the motivation to read. Once I get to some of the fantasy books on my shelf in February, though, I’m hoping I’ll be on a roll and pick up my wild reading habits.

Books Read:

Bloodlines by Richelle MeadThe Bell Jar by Sylvia PlathSleepless by Lou MorganThe Water Knife by Paolo BacigalupiA Darker Shade final for Irene

January Favourite
The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath (review coming soon!) – Long story short, when I was reading it, I didn’t feel like I was in a slump at all and I finished it really quickly. It’s a coming-of-age story about a woman that lives the ultimate lifestyle in 1953 New York and her journey as she struggles with depression. It was fantastic and had me hooked right from the first page.

January Reviews

Bloodlines by Richelle Mead – We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – Matched by Ally Condie – A Darker Shade of Magic (preview) by V.E. Schwab – Sleepless by Lou Morgan – Ed Sheeran: A Visual Journey by Ed Sheeran x Philip Butah – Blankets by Craig Thompson – Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Most anticipated February release

A Darker Shade final for IreneA Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

I got a chance to have a sneaky peak at V.E. Schwab’s new book and I grabbed it with both hands. It was stunning and, oh boy, am I excited to read the whole thing! Check out my review here to find out exactly why you too should be getting excited for this book.

Challenges

Classics Challenge – Read a book by a female author = The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Alphabet Soup Challenge – I’ve got a B, D, S and a W!

New Authors Challenge – 4 new authors! (Sylvia Plath, Paolo Bacigalupi, Lou Morgan and V.E. Schwab)

TBR Pile Challenge – none :C (although I did try to read Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King but didn’t get too far.)

Goodreads Challenge – 2 books behind schedule :/

Other stuff:

  • January is a wonderful month, filled with the sweet sound of all my favourite shows coming back from winter hiatus. Both Revenge and Reign are back and How To Get Away With Murder came back yesterday so I’m very excited about that.
  • I’ve been to see The Theory of Everything with a friend and thought it was absolutely fantastic! It had a few funny moments in there too which I wasn’t expecting. The DUFF (which I haven’t read yet) is coming to the big screen next month and it’s now ever so close to Insurgent.

The things that got me really hyped in January were mostly TV and film, as you could probably tell. In general, I have a feeling February will be an amazing month (and not just because it’s my birthday.)

Leave a Reply

