A Time to Reap by Jonas Lee – book review

A Time to Reap by Jonas Lee

A Time to Reap || Jonas Lee || Fantasy || 250 pages || Createspace || 4.26 on Goodreads

Summary from Goodreads

Pemberton Academy is not just a school, it’s a gathering place for the children of the future that are afflicted with Temporal Displacement and Telepathy; in short, time travelers and mind readers who have been diagnosed with this “disease.” The Academy is not all as it seems after an explosion nearly takes one of its classmates, but not before Carter Gabel rescues her by using an unknown symptom related to his described illness. An unsanctioned group called the Program begins taking notice as the two classmates exhibit stronger abilities when they are together. Carter’s sense of reality begins to unwind as he learns more about his estranged father’s involvement with it all.

Carter will have to overcome the past of his father leaving, the present of an unknown adversary hunting him down and a future that seems to change with each decision he makes. He will have to learn who to trust out of the people in his life if he wants to conquer the looming notion that the government may be hunting him down because of his developing abilities.

*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.*

Going into this book, I didn’t know what to expect. The synopsis caught my interest and I haven’t read a lot of time travelling books in the past so this read definitely interested me and I wanted to give it a go. As a whole, I pleasantly surprised.

I was expecting it to be more futuristic but the overall feel of the book is quite similar to modern day expect with futuristic additions. It revolves around different groups of people that have different abilities such as Chronological Displacement Syndrome and others that are considered as ‘diseases’. This is mostly why it was so easy to fall into the world. It’s realistic in the sense that if those conditions actually existed, I imagine that’s exactly how the world would react. The safety procedures, the segregation, the new laws being enforced. It was therefore quite believable.

However, as a whole, the story was very plot driven and it moved really fasts so I felt like it was rushed in places. As much as I really enjoyed the romance, there was a case of insta-love which is one of my absolute pet peeves. If the book was longer the themes could have been more developed and it would have been a four-star rating from me but it just moved too fast.

Our main characters, although they came off at simple at first, are very likable and it’s easy to connect with them because, as I’ve said before, the world, especially the high school environment, is quite similar. Our main protagonist, Carter Gabel is witty and smart but, for some reason, at the start of the novel his voice seemed younger than his actual age in the story. As the novel went on that impression faded away. I think Mo was my favourite because she was unique and quite different from the female characters I have recently read.

RATING: [3.5/5] – the next book is expected to publish later this year so I will be probably picking it up as it was an entertaining story even if I had some problems with it.

3 thoughts on “A Time to Reap by Jonas Lee – book review

Leave a Reply

