The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath – book thoughts

The Bell Jar by Sylvia PlathThe Bell Jar || Sylvia Plath || Classic || 228 pages || 3.95 on Goodreads

Esther Greenwood is brilliant, beautiful, enormously talented, and successful, but slowly going under—maybe for the last time. In her acclaimed and enduring masterwork, Sylvia Plath brilliantly draws the reader into Esther’s breakdown with such intensity that her insanity becomes palpably real, even rational—as accessible an experience as going to the movies. A deep penetration into the darkest and most harrowing corners of the human psyche, The Bell Jar is an extraordinary accomplishment and a haunting American classic

Oh, man, I have another favourite! This book had me hooked from page one and it certainly didn’t let me go easily. As you can imagine, I absolutely flew through this book which was amazing considering the reading slump I’ve been in recently. It’s a stunning coming-of-age story that dives deep into the topic of mental illness and I absolutely loved it!

My Thoughts

The main reason as to why this book was so captivating was the narration style. I don’t know what it is (although I could probably imagine) about seeing the world through the eyes of someone with that kind of a mental health problem that makes it so interesting. Esther Greenwood, our main character, sees the world differently right from the first page. She’s quite childlike in terms of what she chooses to focus on when narrating this story and I found that to be so refreshing and fascinating

I loved how this book also had a feminist side to it. I thought it was quite subtle if most of the way through but there are some brilliant messages that I loved discovering in the author’s writing.

Something that also made me love this book was the way we got the really well-rounded view of how mental illness was treated 50 years ago. Although a lot of that is quite similar to how it is in the present day, Sylvia Plath paints a brutally honest and realistic picture of Esther’s experience. She doesn’t sugarcoat the details like I would imagine majority authors would and it gives the story such a personal touch.

RATING: [5/5]

2 thoughts on “The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath – book thoughts

    • It is a beautiful book in it’s own way I guess. It’s definitely not glamorized nor sugar coated but it’s quite iconic and unique. I totally recommend it :3

      Like

Leave a Reply

