Top Ten Inspiring Quotes from Books

0e118-toptentuesday

Ahh I haven’t done a Top Ten Tuesday list in forever! I felt like it’s about time to get back to my list-loving obsession with the weekly meme and this week’s topic is perfect. I absolutely looooove quotes and I love setting them as things like my wallpaper background or just on a piece of paper somewhere in my room during a specific time when I might need a little bit more motivation to get something done. The list below is a mix between quotes that motivate me and quotes that genuinely make me feel better as opposed to inspiring me personally. Let’s go.

1. “Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.”
― Neil Gaiman, Coraline

2. “Once you’ve accepted your flaws, no one can use them against you.”
― George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones

3. “Woman?” She chuckled. “Is that meant to insult me?”
― George R.R. Martin, A Storm of Swords

(I first heard this one on the TV show and I fell in love. I am finally making my way through those books!)

4. “Be a little kinder than you have to.”
— E. Lockhart (We Were Liars)

(I know this one is in a lot of other books too like Wonder etc but I had to put it under something. Does anyone know where the original quote is from?)

5. “Funny how sometimes you worry a lot about something and it turns out to be nothing.”
― R.J. Palacio, Wonder

6. “IT’S HARD not pushing people and not throwing sand at them.”
― Allie Brosh, Hyperbole and a Half

(Because sometimes when I’m frustrated at the world for being stupid, I need something to tell me that it’s okay to have a bad day and be irrationally annoyed.)

7. “If you’re going through hell, keep going.”
― Winston Churchil

(Okay, I cheated. This is one of my all time favourite quotes so I had to put it in here. It was said in one of his speeches but I’m sure someone, somewhere, has put it in a book.)

8. “You endure what is unbearable, and you bear it. That is all.”
― Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Princess

(This one is a bit of a downer but sometimes bad things happen and there is no other way to deal with them then wait for them to pass.)

9. “She took a step and didn’t want to take any more, but she did.”
― Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

10. “It takes a great deal of courage to stand up to your enemies, but even more to stand up to your friends.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Philospher’s Stone

What quotes are on your list? Leave a link to your list below or just tell me in the comments and I’ll make sure to check it out!

Leave a Reply

