July ’15 Wrap Up

July-Wrap-up

I haven’t done a wrap up in so so so long! My last wrap up was before things got a little more hectic with my other commitments which was end of February (Yikes, I know!). But I figured I’d tell you all about what’s happened, what’s going on currently and what’s coming up for me and Book Rambles in general.

Books I read in the month of July…

This whole year I’ve been in a reading slump so the fact that I’ve only read four books and a play this month doesn’t really surprise me at all. Hopefully as the summer goes on I’ll get more into reading and tackle that Goodreads reading challenge. Speaking of challenges…

Reading Challenge Update

Back to the Classics Challenge – so for this challenge I set out to read a classic for every one of the 12 categories… that may not happen. But I’d doing well! Since last time I have read Medea which is a classic play, Northanger Abby by Jane Austen which I will count towards the 19th century category classic and The Time Machine by H.G. Wells which, since English is not my first language, I can count towards the Classic in Translation category. BUT, FEAR NOT I am actually reading Tess of the D’Urbervilles which is a classic! *victory dance*. Once I finish that, I will have 7 out of the 12 under my belt and let’s be real here, for me, that’s pretty good.

Alphabet Soup Challenge – I haven’t been paying much attention to this challenge since I thought I’d read normally for most of the year and then at the end of the year read books with the specific letters that I have left and I would be fine. Right now, I’ve got 14 out of the 26 letters covered which is not that great if I’m being frank. By the time the next month’s wrap up comes along, I’ll be ready with at least 20 letters covered. Yupp. That’s my goal.

New Author Challenge – I’M DOING SO WELL ON THIS ONE! My goal at the beginning of the year was to read 25-new-to-me authors and guess what? I’m on 24 only 7 months in! Someone give me a medal or at least a pat on the back.

TBR Pile Challenge – I’m… not doing too great on this one either. I’ve read one out of the 12 books I listed that I have to read by the end of 2015 but I still think I can do it! One of the books on my list I couldn’t get into so I’ll have to replace that one, I’m in the middle of A Game of Thrones which I’ll be taking on holiday with me along with four other books from that list so hopefully I’ll get back on track with that challenge soon.

Goodreads Challenge – I had to change my goal of 100 books to 75 books because honestly, I didn’t see myself completing that. I am still behind on this challenge but I’m hoping the month of August will fix that.

reading challenge

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow RowellJuly Favourite

At first I wanted to go with Red Queen because it was one of the best books I’ve read this year but then I decided to go with the book which made me squeal and laugh and want to scream at the ending: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowel. I’ve got a review on this book ready to be posted soon so stay tuned for that but for now I can tell you that this book is filled with fluff and good things but also really serious topics too so, naturally, everyone should go read it!

Most Anticipated August Release

Never date your best friend

Always be original

Sometimes rules are meant to be broken

Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids—the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they’d never, ever do in high school.

Some of the rules have been easy to follow, like #5, never die your hair a color of the rainbow, or #7, never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he’s broken rule #8, never pine silently after someone for the entirety of high school. It’s either that or break rule #10, never date your best friend. Dave has loved Julia for as long as he can remember.

Julia is beautiful, wild and impetuous. So when she suggests they do every Never on the list, Dave is happy to play along. He even dyes his hair an unfortunate shade of green. It starts as a joke, but then a funny thing happens: Dave and Julia discover that by skipping the clichés, they’ve actually been missing out on high school. And maybe even on love.

Other Stuff I’m Loving

  • I’ve recently become more active in the bookish side of tumblr which was great! I’ve been on tumblr for years and years now (and it, along with Youtube, is the most addictive site on the internet by far) but I’ve never seen the book community that is on it. It’s been great and there are some amazing and creative people on that site! If you want to follow me, you can find my tumblr HERE.
  • Speaking of booklr, I’VE BEEN MAKING EDITS! Some of them aren’t that great some of them I’m really proud of so it really depends how they turn out. I made a new one every weekend to not get too distracted from blogging on here but if you want you can check out my The Book Thief edit HERE and my A Court of Thorns and Roses one HERE. Those ones turned out pretty good actually!
  • MY BOOKSHELF IS OFFICIALLY IN RAINBOW COLOURS! I’ll probably make a post about it sometime soon but it’s so pretty and every times I look at it I want jump around at how gorgeous it looks ahhhh!
  • Green tea. Green tea green tea green tea. ALL THE GREEN TEA. It’s supposed to be very healthy for you and stuff but for me it’s all about the taste OH BOY IS IT GOOD. I’m kind of scared if I’ll normal tea I’d hate it now because green tea is so good you guys, SO GOOOOOD.

So that’s it! I have to say, July wasn’t that eventful. I’m praying that August will be better…

How has your July been? Are you on top of all the challenges you committed to in January? Hopefully you’re doing better than me!

4 thoughts on “July ’15 Wrap Up

    • Ahh tell me about it! I was really determined to read 100 books this year but the reading slump killed that dream. They’re the absolute worst for a book lover. Hope you get over your reading slump soon darling!

      Like

Leave a Reply

