Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From

top-ten-tuesdays

This week’s topic was really easy for me! I’m actually pretty happy with my author selection in this list because most of them I’d recommend to everyone. This list features most of my favourite authors so I’ll take every chance I get to tell y’all to read their books, thank you very much.

1. Jacqueline Wilson (20+ books)

Jacqueline Wilson was the only author I read from the ages of 7 to 11. I found her books so funny and so captivating as a kid that I kept a huge printed poster on my door with all the titles she has published at the time and I’d tick some off every week. When I was 12, The Longest Whale Song came out and I went to buy it with my pocket money to a proper chain book shop – that was the first book I have ever bought. She’s the hero of my childhood.

2. L.J. Smith (13 books)

Ohh I remember marathoning all of The Vampire Diaries and some of The Secret Circle when I became a huge TV junkie and The Vampire Diaries was one of my favourite shows. The thing is, there are 13 BOOKS in The Vampire Diaries (a four book original series, and THREE TRILOGIES). I have no idea how I managed to read all of those especially when I didn’t find those books particularly amazing. They were good but looking back on it, I can admit I’ve read better. The first Secret Circle books was okay too.

3. J. K. Rowling (11 books)

J. K. Rowling created my favourite fantasy book series if not my favourite book series of all time. I’ve read all of the Harry Potter books as well as the Comic Relief Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them and Qudditch Through the Ages.

4. Cassandra Clare (11 books)

Cassandra Clare is one of my favourite authors so how can she not be on this list? I’ve read both The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices trilogy as well as her book with Holly Black, The Iron Trial and The Shadowhunter Codex.

5. Rick Riordan (10 books)

If you haven’t heard of Rick Riordan you’ve probably been living under a rock. He writes hilarious series of books surrounding different mythologies, and honestly, they’re the best. I’ve read both Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus and I tried to read Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods but I read the first chapter and put it down because I was simply not in the mood at the time. I’m hoping I’ll read it soon though! All of his books = 100% recommend.

6. Richelle Mead (9 books)

I am a massive Richelle Mead fan! But the reason I’ve only read 9 books and not 12 is because I just could not carry on with the Bloodlines series. I just didn’t like Sydney as a character as Adrian had changed from the character we see in Vampire Academy so I didn’t really enjoy that either. Vampire Academy, though, was amazing and I’ve been thinking of rereading the series for months now.

7. Lauren Kate (6 books)

I was 100% obsessed with the Fallen series when it first came out. Looking back, again, I’ve read better and my tastes have changed but I still don’t think this series is awful and I still adore some of the characters. As well as the 4 books in the series, I’ve read the novella called Fallen in Love and her other book The Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove. I have yet to read her new series, Waterfall  but I’m not too excited to read it so it might be a while yet.

8. Stephanie Meyer (5 books)

Shock. Gasp. Horror. Stephanie Meyer is on my list again! I was a die-hard Twilight fan back in the day and I still consider those books to be really entertaining. They were not the best but they’re still fun and that’s why I love them. Also, The Host was one of the best books I’ve ever read. No lie.

9. Sarah J. Maas (4 books)

I’m pretty sure I’ll read anything this woman writes. That being said, I still haven’t read Assassin’s Blade which I mean to get to before Queen of Shadows comes out this September. I was weary at first when it came to her other series, A Court of Thorns and Roses which came out this year but I needn’t worry because it was epic. I recommend her to everyone! She’s fantastic. (Also, have you seen her twitter pictures and instagram? She’s absolutely adorable!)

10. Maggie Stiefvater (4 books)

I hate to end on a downer but this is once again an author I read when I was younger and even then I didn’t find the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy that great. The characters were just really boring to me. However, I also read Sinner this time last year and that was so so so amazing because I loved the main two characters who were in the background of the main trilogy. I’ve also tried reading The Raven Boys but I didn’t have enough patience for it so I couldn’t get into it.

Who have you got on your list this week? Leave a link to your list and I’ll make sure to check them out.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From

  1. I forgot about Richelle Mead! And, like you, I enjoyed the original Vampire Academy series way more than the Bloodlines series. Bloodlines seemed a bit…blander, and I missed Rose’s sassy, sarcastic narration. And if you like Maggie Stiefvater, you should read her novel The Scorpio Races. It’s my favorite thing she’s written. Great list!

    Thanks for stopping by Writing on a Vintage Typewriter!

    Like

    • I missed Rose’s POV when I was reading Bloodlines and Sydney/Adrian annoyed me too so I just couldn’t pick up the other part of the series. I’ll make sure to check out The Scorpio Races :3

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jacqueline Wilson! I remember The Suitcase Kid the best from the books that I used to take from the libary as a kid.

    I’ve heard The Raven Boys takes some patience. I own it, but have yet to read it. 🙂

    Like

  3. Confession time: I’ve never read anything by Sarah J. Maas. I know, I know, so bad! People seem to ADORE her books so I really should get around to reading at least one of them eventually. Is there one that you would recommend to start with?

    Like

    • Sarah J. Maas is a queen! Well, she’s only got two series going on right now so I suggest starting with Throne of Glass because the 4th book is coming so soon (and I’m nowhere near ready!) You can read A Court of Thorns and Roses at any point because it has nothing to do with Throne of Glass and it’s also pretty amazing :3 Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

