Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With

top-ten-tuesdays

I thought I had this topic nailed. It wasn’t until I had half of my list composed that I was running dry on characters to hate. There are the main ones (Snape, Thomas, Dimitri) that came straight to mind when I saw the today’s topic. But about those ones I could rant about for the whole day and so I didn’t have many other characters that I thought I disliked. Never the less, my list has ten names so this list has a range from pure hatred to mild dislike.


1. Thomas
(from The Maze Runner by James Dashner)

Thomas is the reason I won’t read past the first book in this trilogy. I mean, he was just so ANNOYING. Not only was he the slowest character I have ever read about, he was also probably the dumbest and I did not agree with most of the things he did.


Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead2. Dimitri Belikov 
(from The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead)

The only time I really loved his character is in book 4 and 5 and those of you who read Vampire Academy will know why that is. His character was ‘okay’ before those two books and he would not be on this list if it wasn’t for the last book which made made me want to throw that book repeatedly against the wall.

Bloodlines by Richelle Mead3. Adrian Ivashkov (from the Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead)

While we’re on this series, I might as well mention Adrian. He was one of my absolute favourite characters in Vampire Academy. He was so charming and wonderful and brilliant and I loved him so so so much. Now notice that I put “from the Bloodlines series” at the top. Yupp. Bloodlines ruined his character for me. I just didn’t think that the Adrian I read in Vampire Academy was the same one in Bloodlines and yes, yes, character development and all that but I honestly didn’t make it past book three because of how much this bothered me.

The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead4. Sydney Sage (from the Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead)

I just found her really boring, especially after six books of the utterly hilarious and badass Rose Hathaway. She frustrated me a lot while I was reading the first three books of the series and unless someone assures me the rest of the books aren’t in her POV, I don’t think I’ll finish the series.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone by J.K. Rowling5. Severus Snape (from the Harry Potter series by Richelle Mead)

Honestly, I don’t understand. It has been EIGHT YEARS and still people believe that he’s a hero and should be worshiped. Yes, I acknowledge that he is a complex character and yes I love complex character but I hate him with a passion. I will most likely make a whole post just ranting about him and how people say he was the bravest man Harry had in his life. But for now I will just sit back and enjoy the fact that although I’m sometimes disappointed with the people that are on tumblr, I am very happy with the fact that 99.99999% of the fandom is united in believing that Harry naming his son Albus Severus Potter is the biggest load of crap they have ever heard.

Geek Girl by Holly Smale6. Harriet Manners (from the Geek Girl series by Holly Smale)

The first book was great. It just kind of went downhill from there. With every book she got older by a year and yet she still acted like an 11-year-old throughout the three books that I’ve read.

7. Jason Grace (from The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan)

I just didn’t like him. There’s no concrete reason behind it except for maybe that he’s pretty useless most of the time and always gets knocked out in a fight. Maybe it’s because I just like Percy better.

8 + 9. Sam and Grace (from The Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy by Maggie Stiefvater)

There’s nothing really about them that I disliked but they were just so boring. I though the relationship between Cole and Isabelle was much more interesting and so their one companion novel was so much better than the three books of Sam and Grace.

10. Cassia (from the Matched trilogy by Allie Condie)

I didn’t like this book in general. I couldn’t relate to the main character and found her to be narrow-minded, a hypocrite and her distribution of blame within those 100 pages or so of the book that I managed to stomach wasn’t great at all.

So that’s my Top Ten for the week! Let me know how is on your list or leave a link and I’ll make sure to check it out!

17 thoughts on “Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With

  1. AHHH I RELATE TO THIS POST ON A SPIRITUAL LEVEL (except for Thomas and Sam and Grace, hehe, I love them all to pieces so so much but MOVING ON!) Omg I didn’t even remember to put Snape on mine, but I 1000% agree. I haven’t finished the series (shame on me!) but, ugh. even if Snape had a crummy childhood, is that any excuse for an ADULT to bully a CHILD?!??! It’s so wrong. Half the reason I haven’t finished the series is because I think Dumbledore is a bit of an idiot for hiring him. >_> Sorry. And erg to Cassia. And SAME WITH ME AND JASON. I liked him by Blood of Olympus, but for 4 books I was just “eh, Jason, whatever.” I felt his only personality was being “good looking and strong and Roman”. -_-
    Here’s my TTT!

    Like

    • OMG I will literally fight anyone who tries to tel me Snape was a good person. Ugh. People have criticised Dumbledore too for letting Harry stay in an abusive home for half of his life just because it was “safer” or something like that. I probably hate Snape more than Umbridge and that’s saying something. The thing with Jason is that I don’t remember him actually doing anything??? I remember Leo being the ultimate guy that can make anything. I can remember Frank being the “baby man” or whatever they called him and his awesome heritage story and his grandma. I remember Hazel because SHE’S SO BADASS. I remember Piper cause she’s really underappreciated by the fandom and it drives me crazy. I remember Nico because omg that plot twist in House of Hades and I want to hug him every other chapter. I’d be here all day talking about how much I love Percy and Annabeth and yet I have no idea what Jason even did for 5 books? “Good looking and strong and Roman” sounds about right xD

      Like

  2. I also have Thomas on my list this week. SO annoying. I was about to say we could never be friends because you have Adrian on your list and I love him to bits, but I agree, in Bloodlines he was rather annoying at times but I love him too much and overlook all his flaws. Great list 🙂

    Like

    • Ahhh I did love Adrian in Vampire Academy! I thought the last book in that series was so harsh on his character I literally wanted to hug him every other chapter :C I guess the reason I’m a bit ehhh about him in Bloodlines is because of the romance and I don’t feel like it’s the same Adrian *hides*

      Like

  3. D: It makes me so sad that you have Adrian on your list. I adored him in both series. I’ve seen Jason on a lot of lists and now that I think about it, he probably should have been on mine as well.

    Like

    • Oh I loved Adrian in Vampire Academy! I think it was the romance that just wasn’t working out for me. Jason was just a bit useless and never did anything but he was described as this brilliant hero. Ahhh.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I get unreasonably excited whenever I find someone else who put Snape on their list! Before today I seriously had never seen anyone say anything bad about him. I completely agree that he’s a complex, well-written character, but not a likable one, at least not to me.

    Like

    • Exactly! I appreciate his character and his role in the plot but I wish the whole thing was presented different. You can have a sad backstory and still be a nice person!

      Like

  5. I’m glad you mentioned tumblr because it just seems that so many people gravitate toward troublesome characters on that site. Maybe I’m just following the wrong people. Snape has many flaws and I feel like those who love him have forgotten (even Harry forgot!).

    Like

    • Tumblr is brilliant at picking apart problematic characters, not always in a kind way, but brilliant. I think the movies were partly at fault, though, because we hardly see any Lily/James so people who haven’t read the books start shipping Lily/Snape.

      Like

  6. I’m not even that familiar with these books…

    I never really liked Snape. Even after we found out all the backstory and whatnot, I felt like I understood him more… but I still didn’t like him all that much. He was an integral part of the story, yes. A hero? That’s somewhat debatable. I guess if you believe the end justifies the means…

    Like

    • I think people just remember his “tragic” death which makes them sympathies with him and so they overlook his past. I guess it’s okay if you just watched the movies and never think about these things but for an active Potterhead who thinks about these things 24/7 it’s hard to like his character.

      Like

Leave a Reply

