Top Ten Book to Movie Adaptations

top-ten-tuesdays

Ahhh everyone that has been around here a while knows I’m a sucker for a good book to movie adaptation. I mean, we all love them right? There is that dilemma of “I don’t want them to ruin it!” versus “What if it’s epic and I’ll have a whole different way to love this story.” I’ve experienced that mental struggle too many times to count and, although this is a post celebrating the films that were translated brilliantly, there have been a lot of cringe worthy adaptions that make me all the more grateful for everyone who made the films below so fantastic. Okay. Enough already! Here is my list of Top 10 Book to Movie Adaptations:

101. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

This is and always will be the best book to movie adaptation out there. I keep a list of book to movie adaptations that I’ve seen on my phone and over the past 4 years I’ve watched over 25. None of the beat the amazing work of ART that is the last Harry Potter movie. The first time I saw it I must have been around 12 years old and I was taken with the adults of the family (parents, uncles, aunties etc.) to go see it and I remembered nothing of it. I didn’t grow up with Harry Potter, I didn’t read the books. Honestly, it was a bit annoying. Fast forward to 2014 and I’m bundled up in a blanket at 10 pm. I’ve finished the book a few hours earlier and stopped crying about an hour beforehand. I put the DVD on and I KID YOU NOT I watched the whole thing and then I restarted it and watched it again. I spent about an hour watching the extra bonus footage after that and so god knows what time I went to bed but I can tell you that so so so many tears were shed that day. (The rest of my list would be mostly HP so I’m going to count all the others in this one too.)

112. Catching Fire

What is there to say about this movie? What can I say that hasn’t been said before. This film is still my favourite out of the three that are out so far (with Mockingjay Part 1 close behind and I’m pretty sure Mockinjay Part 2 will be high on this list too). The Hunger Games is such a fantastic movie series even without mentioning how closely they follow the book. These movies are successful because they know what to change from the book and they know what to leave out all together (especially with Mockingjay. Don’t even get me started on that train wreck of a book.) I’m so so excited for the last film! We’re all going to need a lot of tissues.

123. Divergent

I know a lot of people are a bit iffy about this series/this movie in particular, but this is a one of the few movies I allowed myself to see twice in the cinema. THIS WAS AN INCREDIBLE MOVIE. Gosh, just writing about how amazing this first film was makes me so mad at the creators of the second film. If I was making a list of book to film adaptations which I hated, Insurgent would be very high indeed. Back to Divergent, I thought it was absolutely fantastic and I cried a few times while watching it (what a surprise, I know!).

134. If I Stay

Woah! Another one that a lot of people (*cough* critics *cough*) hated and I couldn’t help but love. Chloe Grace Moretz is such a fantastic choice for Mia and this movie had be bawling 10 minutes into it (just like the book!). I really loved how they did the flashbacks and how they put importance on the family relationships and not just the romance and GUYS IT WAS SO GOOD. I cannot believe I haven’t rewatched it yet (although I think I’m waiting for an evening when I can unapologetically cry over this stupid teenage girl with a stupid family and a stupid boyfriend that gives me all these stupid EMOTIONS).

145. Paper Towns

Paper Towns before TFIOS? OMG Nattie what’s wrong with you????  Honestly, I just liked it better. When I look back at TFIOS it’s nowhere near as funny as Paper Towns and I, unlike many other people, really liked Margo’s character (and Cara Delevingne, but that’s beside the point.) Although looking back at it I would not give it a five star rating, I enjoyed myself immensely while watching this film and as soon as I walked out of the cinema I wanted to go in again. It was wonderful!

Other favourites:

15 16 17 18 19

6. The Fault in Our Stars
7. Mockingjay Part 1
8. Breaking Dawn Part 2

(Shhh, don’t judge. That film was amazing and twilight haters of the past have to admit it was epic)

9. The Hunger Games
10. Eclipse

So that’s it! I hope you also loved some of the films from my list and I’m 100% recommend all of these movies as well as the books that came before them! Leave me a link to your Top Ten for this week and I’ll be checking them out all day. I’m especially excited for today because it’s a Freebie! Who knows what lists I’ll find C:

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Book to Movie Adaptations

  1. I noticed that you focused on YA, but there are a ton of classic films that are excellent adaptations: The Godfather, Gone with the Wind, Fight Club.

    Also if you love The Hunger Games and Divergent, please read 1984, Brave New World, and Fahrenheit 451 if you haven’t already. Hands down, the best dystopian novels!

    Like

    • Ahh I have seen the trailers and various other bits from those three but I never like watching the film before the book so I never really gave those a go. I’ve also heard great things about the Pride and Prejudice 2005 film with Keira Knightley so I might read some more of Jane Austen soon.
      Oooh I have seen Fahrenheit 451 around and I do feel guilty I haven’t read anything from George Orwell yet. I’ll definitely add them to my TBR. Thanks for the recs :3

      Like

  2. I loved If I Stay, so you are not alone. I cried just as much and though I wish the movies had focused a little more on the family and a little less on the romance (that’s how I felt the book was) I adored it. Great list.

    Like

  3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 is definitely one of the best adaptations I’ve ever read. Actually, I love every HP adaptation, even though I might not be the best judge because I started to read the books after the 4th movie, I think, so I pretty much imagined everything as seen in the movie. Catching Fire is my favorite from the three Hunger Games movies too! Unlike you (and most people), I didn’t hate Mockingjay but I do agree, the filmmakers do know what should be left out of the movies. I really didn’t like the Divergent movie adaptation but again by that time I wasn’t a huge fan of the series so maybe that played a part in me not enjoying the movie. Plus, IDK why but Shailene Woodley is just so… antipathetic, which is strange because I usually don’t feel this way about famous people – I mean how should I IDK them. But something about her just rubs me the wrong way. However, I LOVED If I Stay. It was such a beautiful movie and it was wonderful to actually hear Mia play the cello and Adam perform with his band. The actors done an awesome job and everything was PERFECT about that movie.Eclipse was a really good adaptation as well. I think that was my favorite from the Twilight Saga, though the last one wasn’t bad either. I loved seeing all those new vampires on scene. 🙂
    Great list and sorry for the long comment. I talk A LOT.
    My TTT

    Like

    • Yeah I totally agree! David Yates who directed the last 4 Harry Potter films is a genius. Half Blood Prince was also one of my faves. Ahh I can’t believe how close we are to the release of Mockingjay part 2! I’ll probably be one of those people that goes to watch the whole marathon followed by the release at midnight haha C: Don’t worry, I’ve heard a lot of people saying they just don’t like Shailene Woodley so you’re not alone. If I Stay was so so good! When I went to an event for Gayle Forman’s I Was Here she said the thing she liked the most was how the music was put in cause she couldn’t fully do that on the page and gosh it was wonderful! Eclipse and Breaking Dawn Part 2 were the best ones by far. Both the New Moon book and film weren’t that exciting.
      No worries! I love fangirling you can chuck a long comment my way any day :3

      Like

  4. I adore the Harry Potter movies (and books, of course!), and I try to watch them once a year. Always when the weather starts to get colder, which means that time is almost upon me! I also really adore the Lord of the Rings movies. I haven’t watched those in ages, sadly. I should change that soon…

    Like

    • Winter is the perfect time to have a Harry Potter marathon! Especially the earlier films because they were so magical and Christmas-y. I might do that too now :3 I feel so bad because I haven’t read The Lord of the Rings and I really would love to see the movies but I’m very stubborn when it comes to the whole book-before-movie idea *hides*. I should get to them soon especially since I own TLOTR and The Hobbit!

      Like

Leave a Reply

