REVIEW: Anya’s Ghost IN 200 WORDS

Anya's Ghost by Vera BrosalAnya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol

Published: June 7th 2011 by First Second

Length: 221 pages

Where I got it: Library!

Why I got it: I haven’t really explored the graphic novel section of YA so I wanted to give it a go and I’ve heard fabulous things about this particular story.

Summary from Goodreads:

Anya could really use a friend. But her new BFF isn’t kidding about the “Forever” part.
Of all the things Anya expected to find at the bottom of an old well, a new friend was not one of them. Especially not a new friend who’s been dead for a century.
Falling down a well is bad enough, but Anya’s normal life might actually be worse. She’s embarrassed by her family, self-conscious about her body, and she’s pretty much given up on fitting in at school. A new friend—even a ghost—is just what she needs.
Or so she thinks. Spooky, sardonic, and secretly sincere, Anya’s Ghost is a wonderfully entertaining debut from author/artist Vera Brosgol.

This was an interesting one. Anya’s character seemed complex enough with her own insecurities etc. yet it took me a while to feel any positive feeling towards her. Starting off, I thought she was too bitter towards other people that didn’t deserve it. It’s a problem that comes up in YA quite a lot and it’s the issue of girls competing with other girls. It’s absurd. Realising that hating people you don’t know is wrong because they also have their own issues is great. Realising that hating people you don’t know is wrong because it’s petty and ridiculous is better. There is definitely a lesson that has been learnt in that regard but I wish wish wish it could have been shown differently. It wasn’t really until the end that I felt those horror elements really taking effect and I thought from the summary and what I’ve heard about this story that it would be scarier. The side characters were interesting and Anya’s backstory was fantastic. Overall, I did enjoy this graphic novel and felt that although it didn’t blow me away, I would recommend it as a quick read to someone who might want a different kind of story.

RATING: [3/5]

Leave a Reply

